The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Terry Gilliam and Michael Palin, �Time Bandits � The Shooting Script�

Started sometime in December, 2001 � Finished January 3, 2002; 132 pages. Posted 4 January 2002

My first time reading a movie script in any serious amount of length. This is the problem with working in a used bookstore. Would I go out looking for a script to Time Bandits in a bookstore? No! Would I bid on it on eBay, or search for it on Half.com or ABE.com? Not bloody likely. Would I take a copy from work if it only cost me $2.50? Hell, yes!

This was relegated to bathroom reading material, but I�ve been eating a lot of roughage lately. No real insight, though there was one scene that I don�t remember from the film (though it�s been a while since I�ve seen it) involving two spider-women, one of whom is very hot and bothered for Randall, the leader dwarf. Being written by two members of Monty Python, the scene descriptions occasionally lapse into silliness. (Explanation of Exterior vs. Interior shot: �Every scene has to be labeled �Int.� or �Ext.� so the crew will know whether to bring coats or not.�) But overall it�s like watching the film, except it takes the course of a month rather than just under two hours.


Rating: Work in a used bookstore and pick it up for cheap when it comes in, though this will not alleviate your �geek� status.

previous - next - random review