The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

David Thompson and Ian Christie (editors), �Scorsese on Scorsese�

Started February 2 � Finished February 2, 2002; 187 pages. Posted 3 February 2002

Geez, for somebody who doesn�t have all that much interest in film (aside from liking movies), I sure have a lot of film books. Whatever.

There are a lot of Scorsese films that I really like: �Goodfellas� alone is probably in my top ten films of all time. I tell people I graduated from the Joe Pesci School of Linguistics strictly on his character alone, much to the dismay of my mother. I also really like �Cape Fear� and �After Hours.� �Taxi Driver� and �Raging Bull� are excellent as well, but a little too slow for my tastes.

Really, though, my reason for picking this up was for �Goodfellas,� a film that can show you how good a movie can be when it�s done right.

So imagine my chagrin when I find out this book was printed before �Goodfellas,� meaning I have to read about his student films and some of his earlier �The� films that I didn�t like, such as �The King of Comedy,� �The Color of Money,� and �The Last Tempation of Christ.� Also included are a few I�ve never seen, like �Alice Doesn�t Live Here Anymore� and "New York, New York.�

So I�m plowing through these chapters, waiting for the good stuff, and the book concludes with a small mention that his next book will be an adaptation of Nick Pileggi�s �Wise Guy� (titled �Goodfellas.�) AHHHHH!

Well, at least I didn�t have to read about �The Age of Innocence� or �Bringing out the Dead.� Bleech.


Rating: Read it in a library if you really want to, but why would you want to?

previous - next - random review