The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Franz Kafka, "Amerika"

Started February 12 � Finished February 14, 2002; 310 pages. Posted 15 February 2002

Is there anything more depressing than finishing a Kafka novel on Valentine�s Day? Well, yeah, actually. How about finishing a Kafka novel on Valentine's Day in the middle of a crowded bar?

Normally, I would fight to say there is nothing weird about reading in a bar, particularly if there wasn�t anyone worth talking to. But tonight was different. Granted, there still wasn�t anybody worth talking to. But tonight I used the book as a shield, primarily because after the debacle that happened downtown after the so-called "Mardi Gras" party, I needed a place to avert my eyes. And so I read, more out of shame than interest.

Oh sure, most of the girls there were of the type that I wouldn�t want to date, but they looked good tonight, goddamn it. And I couldn�t talk to them for a number of reasons � fear, shame, lack of confidence, whatever. And nothing seemed to go right tonight. I tried to play pool but they refurbished the table and I missed what should have been sure shots. I left earlier than usual knowing tonight wasn�t my night.

The worst thing about tonight is the realization that I am a romantic when I want to be a cynic. I want to find that girl with similar interests, and one who has smoldering looks to boot. Tonight was just another reminder that I can�t find it here, and therefore I need to leave.

I still think she�s out there, we just haven�t connected yet. Though I�m worried that I�ll become more and more introverted, and we�ll never meet because I�m too shy. Or too drunk. Or too lame.

What? A guy can have some drunken self-pity ranting, can�t he? Especially on Fucking Valentine's Day?

Oh, the book? Oh yeah, sorry. It�s okay. Kafka died before he finished it, and they published it as is, rather than having somebody else finish it (like they did to at least three Mario Puzo novels). You can see that this was truly in "first draft" stage.

A good example of proof comes at the beginning, where Kafka�s character sees the Statue of Liberty for the first time. If Franz had time to edit, he probably would have realized that she�s holding a torch, not a sword. The translation also seems rushed and the entire dialogue comes off as wooden, unbelievable even. It�s not particularly interesting either.

I could say more, but I�m really too depressed to say anything right now. Lucky you.


Rating: Worth used prices.

previous - next - random review