The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Murry Frymer, "They�re Coming for my Mattress and Other Tales of Life"

Started February 15 � Finished February 15, 2002; 237 pages. Posted 16 February 2002

I woke up early this morning after a particularly bad night and quickly checked my "to read" bookcase trying to figure out which book to read next. It was early, I was tired, and I wasn�t particularly happy.

Then I saw the Murry Frymer book. I remembered reading his columns in the San Jose Mercury News when I was younger. He was funny, a little schmaltzy sometimes, sure, but he did write some good stuff. Considering some of the recent books I read have been pretty mediocre, I figured this would have a fair ratio of good to bad material.

Well, memories are weird things. I�m sure you all have rewatched a movie that you thought was great at one point of your sad pathetic life, only to be horrified on how truly stupid it really was. I know I have. You can see where this is going, can�t you?

But I�m still going to stick with my memory. The columns I remember liking were the ones that dealt with current issues. Since those were topical subjects, Frymer and the editors probably skipped them, fearing the public wouldn�t remember what the subject matter was about.

Instead were treated to endless cutesy tales of his wife, his cat, and his children. I think I need some insulin to lower my blood sugar, as all of these columns are so sugary-sweet that it made my teeth hurt. But maybe that�s because I was grinding them as I suffered through 74 columns.


Rating: Like my nutrition instructor reminded us in class today, things high in sugar should be taken in moderation. Library material.

previous - next - random review