The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Don DeLillo, "Players"

Started March 20 - Finished March 23, 2002; 212 pages. Posted 23 March 2002

I really wanted to like this.

After reading White Noise, I picked up everything I could find by DeLillo. Unfortunately, the only things I could find were Libra and Underworld and while they were both OK, they were the Top Ramen of literature. White Noise was literary steak served with all the trimmings. Still, I keep trying, and still he disappoints.

Not to say this is bad, and I should note that I like Top Ramen (I even seem to have it on the brain, as I ate some today, even though I have London broil in the refrigerator). It�s just that he�s not connecting with me the way he did the first time. In fact, I�m finding him almost too scattered, choosing to have all his characters babble almost nonsensically instead of having a coherent story line.

I still have Mao II by DeLillo on my to read shelf, which Fern has told me is a really good book, so I�m hoping he�ll get back to doing something amazing. Then again, Fern�s a vegan, so what the hell does she know about steak?


Rating: Worth working at a used bookstore and getting it for really cheap.

previous - next - random review