The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Vladimir Nabokov, "Lolita"

Started May 2nd � Finished May 6th, 2002; 321 pages. Posted 07 May 2002

Okay, for somebody who kicked up such a fuss about the use of child molestation and incest in that last review of Stephen King, It doesn�t make much sense that I just finished reading Lolita.

I�m a complicated person, okay?

I�m having trouble thinking of what to say about this, if you can imagine that. On the one hand, I think it�s very well written, but at the same time I found myself bored more than a couple of times. I can easily explain that � since this is written in the style of a chronological diary/confession, the subject matter (namely being Lolita) is almost suffocating.

Yeah, yeah, he really likes this twelve-year-old. (Actually, he likes lots of twelve-year-olds, but he likes this one in particular.) But Jesus, would it hurt to have a few more extraneous characters? Whenever new characters are introduced, the two pick up and take off again, making this more of a road movie than a character study.

Or perhaps a really bad blog.

I was able to get around the subject matter with only a few qualms, which was a relief. And if your looking for lurid details from the narrator, you�ll have to go elsewhere. But he writes it as almost a challenge of the reader�s morals and mores � will they be able to get past her age and see the story as a simple case of love gained and lost? I guess I can, but I don�t particularly want to.

Besides, in the style that he�s writing, it can actually be more horrific if you want to dwell on the subject. As he says: �As greater authors than I have put it: �let readers imagine� etc.�

No thanks.

So yeah, it�s a good book, and yes, he�s doing things to try and enrage, as well as bring sympathy. I think there are a lot of things I probably missed, but I really have no desire to go through it again. Not because of the subject matter of incest, but rather because I got sick of the subject matter of Lolita.

Finally, there have been several stories that have had sequels written by different authors (Scarlett, a sequel to Gone with the Wind being the only one I can think of at this late hour). I wonder when somebody will write about how Lolita was emotionally scarred for the rest of her adult life from this supposed love affair.


Rating: Worth Used Prices.

previous - next - random review