The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

H.G. Wells, "The Time Machine"

Started May 28 � Finished May 28; 141 pages. Posted 28 May 2002

Jesus, I think I�ve carted this book around with me for at least eight years. Twice before I�ve tried to read this, giving up both times out of sheer boredom.

Well, I finally managed to read the entire thing, front-to-back, and I�m bored. But at least now when I refer to my roommate who lives in the basement as a Morlock, I can do it with authority.

I think the problem with this book is the passage of time (rimshot!) since this was first published. When it was first released in 1895, it was really fantastic with details of a WORLD OF THE FUTURE!

Now, seeing how we�ve had so many other authors, and even more important, filmmakers, this seems as high tech and futuristic as a Roger Corman film, complete with men it stupid rubber suits � which is really how the future aliens felt like in this narrative. It�s really more quaint than interesting.

Maybe I should be upset that all these visuals and narratives that are shoved down my throat through things like Star Wars and Blade Runner have made the bar so high to be impressed with imagination, but I�m not. I�m just bored.

And I don't want to see the movie version either.

(ENDNOTE: Since writing this, I did see that new film version, which made me want to build a time machine of my own and set it back two hours, so when my friend showed up at the front door, asking if I wanted to watch The Time Machine, I could say no.)


Rating: Worth Flea Market Prices.

previous - next - random review