The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Carl Jenson (editor), "Censored 1996: The News That Didn�t Make the News � and Why"

Started June 14 � Finished June 16, 2002; 352 pages. Posted 17 June 2002

Goddamn it. I knew this was going to happen at some point. I�ve had this book for a while. In fact, I think it was the first Project Censored book I ever bought, meaning I paid full (used) price for it because I hadn�t started working at the bookstore. Back then I had two bookcases, and I kept the small pile of things I hadn�t read on one shelf, just to the left.

Well, one thing led to another, I eventually moved out of my apartment and I had three bookcases. One held nothing but records and had three shelves. One held books that I had read. The last one, which had three shelves, held a combination of CD�s and books that were considered my �to read� pile.

Now I have six bookcases, two of which are divided into my �to read� stacks, one being fiction, the other non-fiction.

Somewhere in the move (it could have been from when I moved from the apartment to the house, or possibly from one of the three times where I switched rooms in my present home) this book was on my �to read� shelf. Except for one problem � I HAD ALREADY READ IT! I could tell I had read it fairly early on, as my handwriting in the margins proved.

I figured I had probably started it at one point and never finished it. The handwriting eventually stopped (I don�t write nearly as much as I used to in books, after realizing that most of my �comments� consisted of stupid drawings or jokes, of which only half were funny) so I kept figuring I would soon take over where I had left off. But I kept wondering why I hadn�t dog-eared the last page where I finished.

Well, I finally figured it out when I reached the last story � it�s because I already read the entire fucking thing! Bah! Worse, 1995 was apparently a slower year for censored stories, as only three or four of the top 25 really held any interest to me. This was also why I continued to read even though I was pretty sure I had read it before � I wasn�t totally positive. Just when I was certain I hadn�t read something, along came one particularly interesting point or well-written piece that I remembered from before. Grrrrrrrr...

Anyway, now it�s documented, preserved until I forget to pay the Diaryland bill, so hopefully I won�t screw this up again when I move next time. I just hope I didn�t do this with others.

Or if I did, I hope the subject matter is a little more interesting.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for really cheap.

previous - next - random review