The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Jim Thompson, �The Alcoholics�

Started August 26 � Finished August 26, 2002; 122 pages. Posted 28 August 2002

I�ve mentioned that as much as I like Jim Thompson, he has a formula that is pretty easy to spot. Nice to know that I�m not always right. Totally (well not totally, but significantly) different than his other hard-boiled novels, this is a combination of Elmore Leonard meeting Ken Kesey�s One Flew Over the Cuckoo�s Nest. It actually took a while to get used to, because I was wholly expecting something else. But once I did, I was along for the ride.

And never let it be said that venting and ranting won�t accomplish anything. Alex read my rant about the housing situation and cornered the rest of the roommates to get me a straight answer. And we got one: we�re abandoning ship. It�s sad in a way, but it�s also a relief — and least I can start to plan. And planning is something I�m going to have to do. I have a little over a month to move all of these books from one place to another.

Keep tuned for information, because I�m sure we�ll have one last blowout before we go. Come on by. In fact, there�s a good chance that all of you reading this have left something here at some time, and now�s your last chance to pick it up. There�s Cindy�s Christmas ornaments in the corner. I have Joe�s Raider for his Catan game in my drawer. And who the hell is responsible for all these mattresses?

Fuck, it�s going to be a long month.


Rating: Worth used.

previous - next - random review