The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Roman Dirge, �Something at the Window is Scratching�

Started August 27 � Finished August 27, 2002; 120 pages. Posted 01 September 2002

Roman Dirge seems determined to take over the void left by the absence of Jhonen Vasquez since he went off to make cartoons for Nickelodeon, and apparently he�s succeeding. His comic, Lenore is apparently starting to surpass sales of Johnny the Homicidal Maniac though don�t ask me how I know that.

I�ve never really cared for him. In fact, I consider him a cheap knock off of Vasquez, stealing his art style, his mood, and even some of his jokes. And like most knock-offs, he doesn�t do it very well. So when this first came into the store I looked at it for a moment, and then left it on the shelf for some other poor sap to purchase.

But nobody did, and I apparently forgot my own decision, eventually buying it for myself, though I�m not positive this is the same copy. In any case, I kind of wish I had left it on the shelf, now that I�m finished with it. Dirge, in his own author bio, mentions that Tim Burton�s personal comments about his drawings made him decide to try and continue with art as a profession.

I guess it shouldn�t come as a surprise that this is nothing more than a cheap knock off of Burton�s own book of whacked out short stories that are supposedly for children. After all, if you�re going to rip off somebody, why not aim high?

Unfunny, uninspiring, unoriginal. When I decided I was going to read trash, I didn�t know how bad trash could be. Perhaps I need to rethink this strategy.


Rating: What do you think? Sheesh!

previous - next - random review