The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Warren Ellis, �Stormwatch: Force of Nature�

Started October 17 � Finished October 17, 2002; 160 pages. Posted 30 October 2002

Just so you know, we got a lot of graphic novels in my store recently, and among these there were a lot of Alan Moore, Warren Ellis, and Garth Ennis. So, just a warning for the non-geek; there are gonna be a lot of comic reviews. I�ll try to mix it up.

So apparently, Warren Ellis (who I was introduced to through Transmetropolitan, reviewed here) came onto this comic late in the game after 37 issues had already appeared. So these aren�t his characters, or creations.

But apparently this was a pivotal change in the series. The problem is, for somebody who doesn�t know anything about the old story line, it took me a long time before I could figure out what the hell was going on. Once I did, however, this was really good! Hot Damn! It�s nice to know Ellis can do different story lines with equal success.

Though I gotta say, the concept isn�t totally original. Take a group of superheroes, mix them together, and have them fight crime. Deep. But this is better because Ellis uses more �mature� themes, like making the squad leader an alcoholic. In any case, despite the old concept, this didn�t seem clich�d or trite.

And speaking of Superheroes, I guess I need to clear up the rumor surround my actions last night at the Caravan. My buddy Joe thought it would be a good idea to start dumping beer onto the crotches of various patrons.

I did not fly over the crowd and wrestle the guy who decided it would also be a good idea to start punching Joe in the head, as some people have stated. I ran from a back table through the crowded establishment, over to the bar where they were punching each other (or at least the guy was punching Joe), threw the guy against the bar, and then pinned his arms behind his back.

Since I was wearing my Daredevil shirt, Alex asked me if I was, truly, Daredevil.

I said yes. And now fucking paparazzi has been following me around ever since.


Rating: Worth New!

previous - next - random review