The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Tom Robbins, �Another Roadside Attraction�

Started December 8 � Finished December 13, 2002; 313 pages. Posted 18 December 2002

I went back on forth on this book for a long time. On the positive side, it has a monkey in it, but he�s not in it all that much.

On the negative side, the main characters were all a bunch of fucking hippies. Oh sure, Robbins tried to pass them off as gypsies, but they were fucking hippies.

Plus there�s the weird fact that Tom Robbins looks an awful lot like Doug Henning, and one of the main characters calls himself a magician.

Over the last couple of days there�s been an inordinate amount of people buying Robbins� books at the store lately, and its weird how nobody can agree on which book they like the most. Some people love Cowgirls, which I thought was the weakest one, others threw away Still Life, which I thought was great.

That seems a little odd to me. After all with things like Steinbeck, Heller, or Kerouac, there�s usually a general consensus of which books are better than others. So I�m sure by saying this one was grounded firmly in the middle ground (or the shrug your shoulders and say �eh� rating), somebody is going to have an aneurysm.

Actually, I would have liked this a lot less if it weren�t for Plucky�s discovery in the Vatican, which I won�t spoil for others who haven�t read it, though I really want to. From here the book went into a full swing of feeling like The Monkey Wrench Gang except for the fact the characters in Another Roadside Attraction actually had a monkey.

You would think a group of people calling themselves The Monkey Wrench Gang would have a monkey, but there you go.

I wrote that stuff last night. Not really happy with what I had written, and knowing I needed to study for finals anyway, I decided to let it sit for a while. If I could think of anything else to add, I would put it in later. I opened my biology book, read three pages, and promptly fell asleep � for 12 straight hours.

That�s some powerfully boring stuff! Is that legal to sell on campus? What if the frat boys actually read their assigned readings and figured out this trick? Date rape would go through the roof! �Gee Mitzy, you�re so smart and purty, I just thought you could explain this junk to me. Here, read these three pages...�

Next think Mitzy knows, she�s been fucked like... well, like she just went to a frat party.

So I thought of something to add. Too bad it doesn�t have anything to do with the book.


Rating: Like I said. Eh. But that means that others will probably love it.

previous - next - random review