The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Paul Begala, �Is Our Children Learning? � The Case Against George W. Bush�

Started December 31 � Finished December 31, 2002; 152 pages. Posted 04 January 2003

And so, after detailing how I can�t let go of the past in the last entry, I though I should look to the future. Seeing how GWB will be part of that future, like it or not, I thought this would be the perfect capper for the year.

Written and published around election time from a guy who would have been working in the White House if Gore had been elected, you can�t expect a level headed review of the Bush legacy. That�s okay � Bush bashing always amuses me. It�s like those dick and fart jokes I referenced earlier in the Kevin Smith review � they may be easy, but I can�t help but love them.

As Jello Biafra says in his new spoken word album, You can�t help but notice that George W. Bush makes Dan Quayle look like Einstein. I�m still laughing about the actual quote from W., saying �I know how how hard it is for you to put food on your family.�

Or how about this slip: �I do not believe we�ve put a guilty ... I mean innocent person to death in the state of Texas.�

Of course these are just slips of the tongue, and shouldn�t send us to digging bomb shelters in the backyard just yet, right? RIGHT?!? Well, how about the fact that he passed a law allowing any yahoo in Texas to carry a concealed gun after ten hours of training � in a state that still makes hairdressers complete 150 training hours. You want to pass that shovel pal?

Unfortunately, this book, while heavily referenced, suffers because you know the author wants a job. Those interested in some Bush Bashing can get the same information from Molly Ivins� �Shrub� book, or from Jello�s new album, both of which are more entertaining.

In the meantime, you can just chuckle at statements like, �Will the highways of the Internet become more few?�

Hail to the chief, and happy New Year.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for cheap.

previous - next - random review