The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Terry Jones, �A Pocketful of Python�

Started July 22 � Finished July 22, 2003; 64 pages. Posted 25 July 2003

Yeesh. I read the first 14 pages of a GRE study guide and immediately got a splitting headache. The next few months are going to suuuuuuck...

Here�s a perfect example showing how far behind I am in terms of progress in technology. The other day, while I was getting ready to put the review for The Princess Bride on this site, I turned on my computer. By the time it booted up and connected to the Internet, I had finished this entire book. This is why I wouldn�t be able to maintain a Drudge Report-type site.

Although my spelling is about as bad as his.

Though to be fair to my computer, this was pretty goddamn short and sparse. Jones picked through some of what he calls his favorite python bits and sketches, and reprinted them here. Either he didn�t like all that many Python skits, hence the reasoning behind such a small book or, more likely, each member was allowed to pick their own favorites, meaning the average mindless consumer (e.g., myself) would have to buy six ridiculously overpriced books instead of one.

I guess I can�t blame him for such an obvious sham � if you�ve seen a photo of Terry Jones lately, you�d notice that he�s been eating. Quite a lot, actually, and food in England is not cheap.

But really, if it�s true about the six different books being published (and it is � I just checked on Amazon), Jones must have had the last pick. Oh, there are some gems here, specifically with �Albatross� and �The Truth about Protestants.�

But really, did the world really need another reprinting of the �Every Sperm Is Sacred� song?

Yeah, you�re right, it probably did. I don�t think we needed both that and �The Lumberjack Song� in the same book, however.

For a price of �6.99 (roughly $10.40 in U.S. dollars), you should get a little foreplay with it. I got it for free, but also without foreplay.
---
School Progress: Read the introduction and first chapter of one of the GRE study guides.


Rating: Worth a little foreplay.

previous - next - random review