The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Philip K. Dick, �Clans of the Alphane Moon�

Started August 17 � Finished August 20, 2003; 251 pages. Posted 03 September 2003

The other thing I noticed when I was looking at my shelves for the last review was that if an author writes something I like, I end up buying everything else they�ve ever written.

Just to give you an idea, here�s what my �to read� shelves look like.

You get the idea. For your sanity and mine, I�ve attempted to let a fair amount of time pass before I review an author that I�ve talked about in the last two months. But it�s getting harder to do, hence the doubling and tripling of titles by some authors in the graphic novel collections in recent reviews. Part of this is because I don�t want to summarize a story line over and over again, but I�m also concerned of running out of things to say.

For instance, on the Rushkoff review from a few days back, I was POSITIVE I had written about the MTV guy before, and spent two hours trying different keywords to search through the archives. As it turned out, I hadn�t written about him, but I still didn�t like writing the review because it FELT like something I had talked about before.

Which brings us to this book. I�ve already mentioned in previous reviews that Philip K Dick was a loony toony, and I�ve stated that for the most part, science fiction isn�t my bag. And with Clans of the Alphane Moon, the first thing I want to say is that Philip K. Dick is loony toony, and science fiction just really isn�t my bag.

It�s not that he�s recycling material as some authors do; in fact, this isn�t anything like any other book I�ve read by him. But it�s simply not that good. Worse is that it�s disjointed with a story that involves two worlds, three governments, six species, and a passing reference to connect them all together. Right about the time that I�m starting to get into the story, he switches gears, planets, and comprehension and I have to start all over again. This happened four times.

Four times! A book shouldn�t be this hard.

And so the end result is that I don�t care if I�m repeating myself. Philip K. Dick is loony toony. And science fiction ain�t my bag. And I still have four more books of this nonsense to finish.


Rating: Flee market. As in flee the market that sells this.

previous - next - random review