The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Michael J. Nelson, �Mike Nelson�s Mind Over Matters�

Started September 12 � Finished September 13, 2003; 278 pages. Posted 21 October 2003

This is part seven of an eleven-part story about Kaua�i, which begins here. Part six of the story is here. The rest, you�ll have to find on your own.
---
In a later episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000, Episode 902 � �The Phantom Planet�, Mike Nelson notes that his robot roommates have challenged him to an Andy Rooney challenge. The three of them appear, all wearing white wigs and matching enormous white eyebrows. The topic under discussion is �Soup.� Crow starts the round.

�Soup is funny,� he begins, �Not really a meal, nor is really a first course, because it�s mostly made of water. I find soup to be the most watery of foods...�

Mike: �Some soup have beans in them, and there are beans that are as watery as soup, but they�re not soup. I don�t really trust soup on the whole, no more than I trust stew...�

Servo: �There are French soups with bread in them. I don�t really understand that. To me it�s arbitrary whether you put bread in the soup or soup in the bread. You still have sloppy bread.�

Okay, it�s probably funnier when you�re actually watching the episode. The point is, when I watched it, I thought to myself, �You know, Andy Rooney does rattle on quite a bit about absolutely nothing, doesn�t he?�

So, nothing happened today.

You�re welcome.


Rating: It breaks my heart to say this, but this is really not very good at all. Worth library prices.

previous - next - random review