The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Christopher Golden, �Daredevil: Predator�s Smile�

Started September 9 � Finished September 10, 2003; 386 pages. Posted 21 October 2003

This is part four of an eleven-part story about Kaua�i, which begins here. Part six of the story is here. The rest, you�ll have to find on your own.
---
Personally, I think this is the point of no return for the geeks. Okay, I have a room full of Daredevil statues, posters, Slurpee cups and the like, but I�ve never bothered with a novelization of the comic character.

Until now.

My father seems anxious, as I don�t have any set plans on what I want to do while I�m here. The thing that he doesn�t seem to understand is that I have to make plans all the time at home, and for once, it�s nice to not have to think about any of it. I brought a study guide for the GRE test that I�ll need to take, but by now I already know I�m not going to look at it.

Instead, I made a mediocre bloody mary in a glass that was too small to make a proper drink in and sit and read in a hammock chair until two in the morning.

The next morning, I outline what I want to do while I�m here. I want to go on a crazy hike, preferably culminating in a waterfall. I want to go deep-sea fishing. Most important, I want to drink big dumb stupid alcoholic beverages out of big dumb stupid pieces of fruit. And I want to make a serious attempt to finish the 13 books I brought with me.

Of all my requests, the one he doesn�t understand is the fishing expedition. My reasoning is simple. I�ve come, I�ve visited and seen the majestic forms of life in the ocean. Now I want to kill them.

I�m a white male, age 25 to 42, I explain. That�s just what we do.

But I�m also tired from my excursion with the fish the size of attack dogs, and all I want to do now is sit in the hammock chair. His arm injury has acted up again after swimming around trying to find where I went to, and thus he leaves me to my reading and poorly made drink.

But we have a general itinerary planned. Tomorrow will involve going to the gaudy hotel. Deep sea fishing will be two days later. After that, my sister comes to the island, and she�ll have plans on what to do next. She�s the one who makes plans anyway.

So sure, I think, she can make the plans. I concentrate on my book so I won�t be reading about a comic book character when I hit the main beaches tomorrow.


Rating: Worth used.

previous - next - random review