The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Charles Bukowski, �Bone Palace Ballet�

Started March 31 � Finished April 2, 2004; 366 pages. Posted 26 April 2004

Every now and then, when I denigrate poets or poetry, somebody will try and convince me that there is some good poetry out there. They�ve never convinced me. But let�s give it a shot. I�ll review this in poetry � specifically, in haiku.


Poetry sucks balls
I mean it really sucks balls.
Not in a good way.


Avoid laws of grammar
That makes you more sensitive?
No. It makes you lame.


Working with constraints
Avoiding all conjunctions
And this is art? Fuck.


Say what you mean, jerk.
Don�t make me guess your meaning
�Cause I just don�t care.


So why do I buy
All these Bukowski novels?
It�s �cause I�m stupid.


But I got better
There are three books I don�t have.
And I never will.


Actually, I might
After I finish all these
Left on my damn shelf.


But one thing is good
About reading Bukowski �
It takes a short time.


That�s one more that�s done
With four more left to finish
One that is poems.


So expect more rants
About how I hate poets
But keep buying them.


Rating: This is worth
Picking up in a used store
Monkey, Chicken, Fish.


Rating: see above

previous - next - random review