The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Garth Ennis, �Preacher: Dixie Fried�

Started April 30 � Finished April 30, 2004; 184 pages. Posted 18 May 2004

So, you little voyeurs who look into my business, you want to know if I still got oysters and beer with the (ex)Girlfriend, don�t you? DON�T YOU?!?

I did get to see her on Friday. Apparently, she thought I hadn�t had nearly enough pain and suffering as of late, so she decided to make me sick. And you know the easiest way to make somebody sick? That�s right, you feed them bad oysters. We, however, did not have oysters. Therefore, I must have got sick some other way.

Think about it, people.

Said it before, say it again. Calloo, Callay!

It�s appropriate that the last two books I read are both highly blasphemous, as they were the last books I finished before the breakup. Now I get to write about them, and I have further proof that there is no God (not that I needed any more proof).

Even if there was, instead of being some deity of love, he/she/it feels more like a person who would put kittens in a dryer lined with pillows and turns it on cackling all the while. Nobody really gets hurt, but it certainly isn�t very nice.

Anyway, with this long running comic series, the main focus is that The Preacher, one Jesse Custer, is looking for God so he can kill him.

I can relate.

Of course, I wrote that last paragraph before I saw Hellboy. I�m feeling better. I can still relate, but I feel better. Except for this illness I�m struggling with.

The (ex)Girlfriend once described Preacher as a road trip movie, and I think that fits. One of these days, I think I will read these in the order they�re supposed to be read, if of course I get the entire series, and if I�m caught up on all the things that are waiting for me to read.

Which is about as likely as monkeys flying out of my butt. But the way everything else is shooting through it, I�m not going to say that isn�t possible.

And I still say it was worth it.

Oh shit, I nearly forgot. Garth Ennis is currently writing for The Punisher. That�s not a endorsement, in fact, I read one of his collections of The Punisher, and thought it sucked balls. But, if you want a little local history, The current run of The Punisher, #29, has my own roommate and SJ Drunk Drinking Celebrity, you know who I�m talking about � B.J. is on the FUCKING COVER FOR THAT ISSUE!

I�m not kidding.



See the fourth line, second from the left? I live with that guy. He�s not really deceased, as the cover claims. But the way he pays me back on bills, it certainly sometimes seems that way.


Rating: Worth used.

previous - next - random review