The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Brian Michael Bendis, �Daredevil,� Multiple titles

Started June 17 � Finished June 18, 2004; 240 pages. Posted 07 July 2004

  • �Lowlife� (Started June 17 � Finished June 17, 2004; 120 pages)
  • �Hardcore� (Started June 18 � Finished June 18, 2004, 120 pages)

    Let�s get this straight, before I launch into this review. I�m still very into this comic. I�m still collecting this series, and I pick up the new issue every month. I still really enjoy the writing that�s happening on this current run.

    But re-reading this as single volumes in the space of two days, rather than a single issue spaced monthly has made me realize how soap opera-esque this really is. That�s okay, I prefer the long drawn out story line rather than having an incident or villain appear in every issue, then having the conflict resolved by the end, like a sitcom or movie of the week.

    At the same time, seeing the end of each issue collected in this format made me realize how the last panel for each individual issue may as well had the loud organ issue and a fade-out at the end of it. Tune in next month, true suckers, I mean, believers!

    I really don�t need to be re-reading these collections, particularly since I�ve already read the individual issues. Worse, is that after finally purchasing all the books I had on hold, a project that took me from November of 2003 until two weeks ago, since I have to read two books before I can buy one, my hold stack went from nothing to ten books in the span of two days.

    Holy fuck. I need a vacation so I�ll stop seeing books I want to buy.


    Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for cheap. If you have them already, anyway.