The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Neil Gaiman, �Midnight Days�

Started July 31 � Finished July 31, 2004; 160 pages. Posted 25 September 2004

It�s been a month and a half since I finished this book. So now, looking at the cover, I couldn�t remember what the hell it was about. This usually means I didn�t like it.

After re-opening it and paging though the contents, I suddenly remembered what the hell transpired here. What we have is a collection of Gaiman writings for side projects of guest writer appearances when he wasn�t working on Sandman. Going over Gaiman�s introduction, he says, �most of these pieces are pretty forgettable.�

Oh, so I guess I don�t have to feel bad, huh?

The sad thing is, he�s right. I suppose that�s why, even in the stories for Swamp Thing, which I probably have the original issues, I didn�t remember any of this. But then I also noticed from the introduction this claims to be �never before reprinted� material. So why did I remember the story between the team-up of Gaiman�s Sandman character and the trench coat and gas mask wearing Sandman character from the late 50s?

Because I reviewed that reprint graphic novel, Sandman Midnight Theater, in 2003.

You shouldn�t lie to a reporter, fuckheads.


Rating: Library prices.

previous - next - random review