The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

John Steinbeck, �Of Mice and Men � a play in three acts�

Started August 29 � Finished August 30, 2004; 172 pages. Posted 11 October 2004

This is part fourteen of a 25-part story about Hawaii. The story begins here. Part five is located here. Part ten is here. Other parts you'll have to find yourself. So there.
---
After the boat trip, despite the fact that they fed us, the idea of pizza sounded amazingly good. This probably follows under the same vein when I discovered that after drinking a lot of shitty beer, the idea of 7-11 nachos sounds like a good idea.

Yes kids, it�s true � drinking impairs your judgement.

I got more beer at the pizza place. Let�s just say I passed out early.

So I woke early the next morning � very early. I had no idea when The Girlfriend went to sleep, so I crept out of bed and started to read.

I�m doing pretty well on my book ratio � we�ve been here nine days, and I�ve finished 16 books. (Don�t try to match the days with the books, cause you�ll just drive yourself as crazy as I did when I first started to outline this trip after we got back.)

I�ll say this though, plays are easy to whip through in a short time, especially when you�re working with Of Mice and Men which ain�t all that long to begin with. Imagine how much shorter it is when you take all the descriptions of the countryside out.

Arlette�s still sleeping. This is good. It�s not easy to sleep in this house. She�s been under a lot of stress lately, and when she gets stressed, she gets ill. She seems much more relaxed now. I sneak glances at her as she sleeps, smiling.

I finish my book and start another one. I�ve had no outside media � no television, no newspapers, no Internet, and no music in nine days.

I�m actually kind of bored. But hey, at least I�m bored � on Kaua�i.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for cheap.

previous - next - random review