The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Garth Ennis, �John Constantine Hellblazer: Dangerous Habits�

Started February 16 � February 17, 2005; 160 pages. Posted 22 March 2005

A long time ago, I read a Hellblazer comic by a different writer. I noted how I loved the character in Alan Moore�s hands with Swamp Thing, but that Constantine in other�s hands just wasn�t interesting.

Half a dozen people told me about this particular run, saying that I had to read it. And so when it came in, I picked it up. What the hell, right?

Then I finished it, over a month ago, and while it was pretty damn good, I didn�t have much to say about it. So this afternoon I went to go see the Constantine movie.

Because that�s how much I care about you, the reader. I�m doing all this research so that I can make informed commentary.

And not because I�m bored out of my mind. Honest.

Ok, so the research is finished and I can now expound on the two mediums. After all, though Ennis isn�t credited in the credits, all the good bits from this film are lifted straight from this run on the series. So it�s time for some insight.

Duuuuuh.... Book is better.

---

I�m getting used to this going out to do things alone. I had oysters and beer by myself on Friday, went to The Vagina Monologues on Sunday, and then the movie by myself today. Tomorrow night I�m doing that DJ gig at the dive bar. For an anti-social person, I�m quite the sociable motherfucker. Even if the 2,000 seat theater only had two other people besides me in it.

It�s not that I want to do all this stuff by myself, but lately I haven�t had a whole hell of a lot of choice. But I�m not angry. After all, anger leads to hate, and hate leads to the Dark Side.

And since quoting Star Wars leads to involuntary celibacy, I�d like that last remark stricken from the record.

Speaking of geekery, imagine how I felt when I was buying my ticket, and realized I was going to see Constantine while wearing a trenchcoat.

Oh wait, there may be one or two people reading this who aren�t total geeks, though I can�t figure out who they might be. I�ll explain: In the comic, Constantine is always shown wearing a trenchcoat.

He�s also always shown being blond and British, but what the hell.

Anyhoo, I was wearing the trenchcoat because IT WAS RAINING. I know that doesn�t explain the Evil Dead shirt I had on underneath, but give me a break here!

Since I realized I haven�t picked out any of the records I plan to play tomorrow night, much less testing them to make sure they don�t skip and putting post-it notes on everything, I�m gonna cut this short.

Worth keeping? Sure. But I�ll be getting rid of that other issue.


Rating: Worth used.

previous - next - random review