The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Aaron McGruder, �Fresh for �01 ... You Suckas!�

Started March 20 � Finished March 21, 2005; 127 pages. Posted 29 April 2005

Hmmm. Everybody kept asking what happened to my collarbone, and when I finally tell them this place is quieter than church after somebody farts. Unless I�m in that church when said fart happens, because then I�m all �Hey, that guy farted! Good god almighty, he�s got the devil in him! Somebody get an exorcist! The power of Christ compels you to eat a lot of chili, apparently!�

Anyhoo.

Work-related Haiku time!

Despite Kelly�s demands that I stop pretending that I�m not broken (and by the way, Super Kung fu power congratulations on the acceptance to school in San Francisco. I�ll give you a list of people to meet, and people to kill. Guess which one is longer?), and though I kept asserting that there is nothing to do in San Jose, I�m going to be very busy for the next couple of days.

Tomorrow, I�ll be going to see D.I. with Retching Red. The next day, I�m seeing NoMeansNo. Tuesday, I�ll be seeing them again, only this time with The Freak Accident. And in about a half-hour, I�m heading out to watch The Fleshies.

Four punk rock shows in five days. It�s like I�m 16 again! Only this time, I have to work the next day after every show. Good god, I hope my supply of Vicoden holds out. Just to prove that I�ve matured a little, Etta James performs in two weeks, and I�m going to that as well.

Of course, I am still broken, my arm is still in a sling, and the lump below my collarbone has me worried that it decided to heal at a right angle. So I�ll be going to these shows only to hang out in a corner where I won�t be jostled or run into. In other words, I won�t be seeing you in the pit, motherscratchers.

Which is too bad, as I have this overwhelming desire to put my elbow into the base of somebody�s skull.


Rating: Worth working at a used bookstore and getting for cheap.

previous - next - random review