The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Neil Gaiman, multiple titles

Started May 23 � Finished May 24, 2005; 176 pages. Posted 19 July 2005

Well, I said I had a hankering to read some Neil Gaiman, didn�t I?

And remember how I said he seemed like a nice guy? It comes across in the Spawn book. Look, I don�t know shit about Spawn. I�m not really interested to find out. I saw the first HBO cartoon. I think I saw the movie, but I don�t remember anything about it. I think I glanced at the comic once or twice when it came into the store, and it looked like the complaints that Alyssa makes in Chasing Amy: The big guns, big tits, small words genre for boys who don�t have access to the first two.

Todd McFarlane, king of the action figure, apparently approached Gaiman to plot out a mini-series, and Gaiman said yes. They�re probably friends. Still, since McFarlane is doing the art, we get page after page of women with aerodynamically unfeasible clothing. Gaiman makes a joke out of this, having the Spawn character constantly wondering aloud how it�s possible that everybody looks like they stepped out of a Victoria�s Secret catalog.

I think Gaiman�s been approached by a lot of people to write something. And I think he accepts a lot of them out of a natural curiosity to see if he can pull it off, no matter how silly it is. That�s the case with the other book, which was pitched by the agents of Alice Cooper.

I�m sure somebody is going to bite my head off for this, but I don�t get the fan base that Alice Cooper has. Granted, I�ve only heard a half dozen songs, but he seems so white bread. I mean really, is he supposed to be spooky? �Cause he�s not. If eyeliner made you scary, then The Misfits would terrify me. I saw Samhain play, along with The Misfits (sans Danzig). I couldn�t stop giggling at The Misfits show. Oooh! He�s holding a skull and wearing a cape and comes out of a coffin!

So did Screamin� Jay Hawkins, at least 15 years previously. And Jay has better songs.

Whatever. Who cares? On to other things.

I forgot to mention that the Red Hot Punk Rock Goddess finally contacted me � 30 people killed four houses away from her front door, her street in rubble. I wasn�t being melodramatic when I said I was worried.

And speaking of Red Hot Punk Rock Goddesses, I think it�s high time I start the hiring process. I need a new Serving Wench/Partner In Crime. Care to fill out an application?

THE APPLICATION

SHORT ANSWER

ROLEPLAY
(No, not D&D, and not where you notice me across the room at the dance club and follow me to the bathroom either.)

BONUS POINTS


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for cheap.

previous - next - random review