The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Gabriel Garcia Marquez, �Love in the Time of Cholera�

Started June 8 � Finished June 16, 2005; 348 pages. Posted 29 July 2005

Look, don�t jump all over me (unless you�re gonna do it in a good way), but this book? Whatever. Don�t care. Didn�t care when I was reading it. Don�t care now. Sex and death. Um... I�ll take the first one, thanks. You can give my portion of death to the people at the next table.

I�m sorry, I�m sure lots of people have read and loved this. And to be fair, I�m pretty fucking distracted lately. It probably wasn�t the best time to foray into unfamiliar territory, author wise. I would say that maybe I�d give it another chance, but the fact is I�m not taking it with me. So no � I won�t give it another chance when I�m more settled. Not anytime soon anyway.

See, I can�t even concentrate on this book now that I�m supposed to write something about it more than a month later, I just keep thinking about other things. Like the fact that I have 17 days left in California. And how I also have 17 cans of chili. And how the person on the plane in the seat next to mine is going to hate me.

And the packing. Lord the packing. Most of the records are now in boxes, so next Wednesday will most likely be my last night with the punk rock DJ thing.

Then there�s the upcoming final show on the 12th of August. Both bands are sounding much better and people seem to know about it without me constantly reminding, cajoling, or pleading with them to go. This show might not actually suck!

Of course, some people are planning on going, people who never heard PTL or Idiot bitch in the first place. They have no idea what they�re getting into. Perhaps this would help.

When I gave the Dean history of Gilman Street, I wrote about how I wanted our songs to be a little more relevant that your standard tunes about beer and girls. PTL was just about finished and Idiot Bitch was beginning for me, but the first band wanted to do one last record. Our bass player was gone, and we replaced him with my Evil Twin from Buffalo.

The Evil Twin also wanted to do songs with a more serious political bent, so we conspired by writing all the lyrics and music ourselves and foisting them on the rest of the band.

But the evil twin won�t be playing this final show. I�ve received flak for trying to put this song into our set list, as we only ever played it live twice. But I know the real reason for the rest of the band�s reluctance � all the other so-called tough punk rock boys are too embarrassed to do the spoken word portion. I would do it myself, but I�ve learned that the only thing I can do at the same time as playing drums is to smoke, and I can�t even do that in California anymore, unless our show was outside.

But I figured out a way around this. Luvabeans, who will be fresh from her tour of all areas in the U.S. that are flat and boring, has agreed to do the spoken word portion.

In a skirt.

Oooh, this is gonna be awesome.

Though I guess that doesn�t make any sense to you people, huh? Ok, here�s the song. Be Warned: This is not suitable for playing in your office. Mom, you probably shouldn�t listen to it either. Those with a religious affiliation or affliction may want to skip it as well. (Crate, I�m looking in your direction, here.)

Wow, that's offensive!

Now imagine that speech at the beginning and middle said by a girl.

Again, in a skirt.

My cat just jumped in surprise with the evil laughter coming from me.


Rating: The same noise that just came out of my butt.

previous - next - random review