The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Harvey Pekar, �The New American Splendor Anthology�

Started August 21 � Finished August 21, 2005; 284 pages. Posted 09 November 2005

The Company: Employee Discussion

Yes, that�s right, I am the 2005, slimmer, sexier, and perhaps funnier version of Harvey Pekar. Please don�t cast Paul Giamatti for my role for the movie version.

And you know what really pisses me off about this? Not the write up, which I deserved � I was scheduled and screwed up. But this incident happened on Oct. 23. The write up was prepared the next day. They let is pass for two other shifts until Halloween finished, most likely because they didn�t want to risk me pinching a fit and quitting during what has to be their busiest time of the year besides Christmas season.

In other job news, I got another article published in the Honolulu Weekly. This place has all their favorable articles mounted on a plaque and glued against the wall of the fancy hotel where they reside. I find it extremely comical that my article � with my name at the header might join that throng. The club will open for a fourth night starting tomorrow, so between that, the articles I�m writing for the paper, and the copy editing gig, I thought I�d be safe to quit The Company.

Last night, I went to a bar, took the pictures, and wrote the article that night, despite having to get up four hours later. I turned it in before deadline, and got a quick response saying they had three other pieces already in, so my piece can join the queue. Since it�s a weekly publication, that means it will be another month before I see print again, allowing me to send in an invoice.

Which means, for now, I�m still a company man.


Rating: Worth used, and hail Satan.

previous - next - random review