The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Christopher Finch, �Of Muppets & Men: The Making of the Muppet Show�

Started October 26 � Finished October 31, 2005; 180 pages. Posted 12 February 2006

Due to my sleep schedule being so out of whack from working at the club five nights a week, the Netflix subscription turned out to be a good idea since it gives me something to do while I�m lying in bed at five in the morning, trying to get to sleep. Hence, I�ve been tearing through the movies in my queue. I went through the two disc set of Angels in America, then watched The Fog of War, and last night I finished the sixth disc of Freaks and Geeks.

As if I weren�t feeling geeky enough for having just finished a play and a documentary on Robert McNamara, watching that television show had some genuine wince-inducing moments for myself. The three �geek� kids kept making references to things I either liked or owned. They quoted incessantly from Airplane! and The Jerk, which I�ve done on more than one occasion. They made a thinly-veiled reference to Daredevil. Hell, Sam, the main geek character, had the same Star Wars bedspread that I just gave away six months ago when I moved.

�Hey, hey, hey!� I�d think, wincing at the stereotypes. �Just because a guy likes comics and has the good taste to realize Monty Python and the Holy Grail is a great fucking movie, it doesn�t make him a total loser virgin!�

The next thing in my queue, Steve Carell�s The 40 Year Old Virgin, came today. The opening establishing shot has him getting out of bed and to the right is a huge, framed poster for Mystery Science Theater 3000 � The Movie.

It�s the same huge, framed movie poster I have to the right of my bed. Later in the film, when he decides to sell his toys, they show a close-up of the same Elektra figure I own, still in the original box.

And now I�m reviewing a book on the making of The Muppet Show, and I loved the book. And yes, in my queue for upcoming discs is Season One for the Muppets.

Fine, so I�m a geek. And seeing as I can admit that, I may as well paraphrase Monty Python and say, �But I�ve had more women than any of you!�

Now if only I can convince somebody to let me use The Carl Stalling Project as mood music. Luva gets dibs.

And finally, just to solidify my geek status, allow me to say Manahmanah.


Rating: Worth new! Too bad it's out of print and fetching collector prices!

previous - next - random review