The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Brian Michael Bendis, �Daredevil� (Multiple titles)

Started February 12 � Finished February 13, 2006 888 pages. Posted 02 April 2006

My Punk DJ night was moved to Thursday in hopes to get more people willing to come out. Plenty of people said they liked it, but found it hard to get up and go out on a Tuesday evening. Thursday is the new Friday, so we were hoping to get people with half-hearted work ethics.

The problem with the move is the owner wanted it done quickly, so we had a little over a week to promote. I made up a new flier and a few posters and headed to the university to distribute my personal propaganda, whereupon I realized it was Spring Break and the entire campus was deserted.

And then there�s the weather, which we�ll get to in a moment. In any case, my auspicious opening entailed opening at nine. We closed at 11:30. There were a total of seven people at one point, which included an employee and his three friends, all of who were underage. Two other people were straightedge. The final person went directly into the bathroom to shoot up. He was thrown out.

Punk rock!

So yeah, not a really impressive night in terms of bar sales, considering I was the only one buying beer. There are loads of reasons for the abysmal turnout besides the poor advertising, however. Even with the sudden switch in days and lack of fliers, the main factor that kept people away in droves was the weather. And the sewage. And the merging of the two.

I should explain. I mentioned how bad the weather was as of late in the last entry. I wasn�t lying. It wasn�t hyperbole. We�ve now beat last year�s rainfall total for the year, after a solid month of heavy downpour. A half dozen records have been shattered. People trying to enjoy a movie at the Kalaha mall the other day had the projector break and when people got up to go to the lobby, three feet of water flooded through the doors.

The fact that the people were watching Ice Age 2: The Meltdown makes it all delicious irony. Though perhaps I should choose a different descriptive term, since most of the overflow came from sewage lines backing up.

Yes, sewage lines have overflowed everywhere, though no more so than at the Ali Wai Canal, which crosses both the front and the right of the club I work at. As of this writing, 48 million gallons of raw, untreated sewage overflowed into the canal, which then floated out into the ocean, making Waikiki (which is already fairly filthy in comparison with the rest of the island, if only because of all the sweaty tourists with too much sunscreen) and the surrounding beaches totally off limits. According to an article in yesterday�s New York Times, The Hawaii Department of Health tested the ocean water for fecal bacteria levels, and some areas recorded at levels thousands of times higher than acceptable.

Island paradise? What a crock of shit, yeah?

Though the contamination didn�t stop the 19th Annual Great Hawaiian Rubber Duckie Race along the canal, where 20,000 rubber ducks were dumped into the canal as a charity benefit for the United Cerebral Palsy foundation.

Really, people. Have we learned nothing from all of those Toxic Avenger movies? When all these bathtub toys mutate and grow to hideous proportions turning into harbingers of doom and destruction, don�t point fingers at me.

So yeah, with the rain, Spring Break, and the club being surrounded by Hawaii�s new toilet main, I guess I shouldn�t be surprised that nobody showed up for my stupid Punk Rock DJ night. Really, why would anybody want to go, when most people were busy trying to keep out a fresh tide of fresh turds? Who the hell would come to Hawaii right now, considering what a mess the state is in?

Well, my sister, for one. It�s good to know, in a petty sort of way, that I�m not the only person who has bad luck whilst travelling.

When she first got here last Monday, we had a break in the 39-day run of rain, and we squandered that with various errands and a quick bar tour to places that I already wrote about, meaning I couldn�t get paid for a new review. The rest of the time since she�s arrived she�s mostly found herself stuck in my father�s apartment with only the occasional reprise to go to the cheapo movie theater.

But we did drive up to the North Shore, where there haven�t been problems with sewage overflow, though they did have a shark attack and a mass invasion of box jellyfish. Instead of trying to deal with the ocean, we decided to hike up to a waterfall which was pretty damn impressive, helped because of all the rain that we�ve had as of late.

It was a nice outing, and it reminded me that yeah, even with the sewage and the sharks and the giant, horribly mutated rubber ducks, I now live in a place that�s much prettier than San Jose. The problem is I never seem to find time by myself to witness any of it, except when people come to visit. When they do visit, however, I get to see things like this:

And this:

Which I like seeing, and am more than happy to show you. So who wants to come first?

Dirty. Heh.

Really though, I guess I shouldn�t be too hard on myself for staying home a lot during my time off. After all, with the weather we�ve had, I have views like this outside my window:

Thank christ that�s not sewage.

***

I planned on mentioning my upcoming birthday, and a desire to replace the CDs that were stolen out of my car along with things I�d like to have for the DJ night, but this is too long already. Basically, I need/want some people to go on a CD burning crusade. Contact me if you�re interested in helping.


Rating: These are great, quality reprints in hardback packaged specifically for dorks. Dorks like me.

previous - next - random review