The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Brian Michael Bendis, �Powers: The Sellouts�

Started August 30 � Finished August 31, 2006; 192 pages. Posted 14 November 2006

I discovered on Saturday night that I�d make a lousy superhero. Why? Because I had a tiny, but painful bruise on the bridge of my nose, just next to my left eye. Why the hell did I have a tiny, yet painful bruise on the bridge of my nose, just next to my left eye? I was celebrating. I had reason to. I mean, in the last couple of days we got to see Rick Santorum get his ass handed to him in Philadelphia.

Just after hearing that news, I found The House of Representatives was taken by the democrats.

The next day, Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld decides to make a break for it before he gets lynched for his incompetence (which should have happened at least three years ago).

By Thursday, it�s made official � Democrats have taken both the House and the Senate.

And on Friday, I was hired as an editor for an alternative weekly with a 40,000 circulation.

So that bruise? Yeah, it wasn�t exactly caused by the celebrating. The next day, however, I was so hung over that I kept pinching the bridge of my nose trying to concentrate on something besides my massive hangover.


Rating: Bendis is awesome, Christmas is coming, and I still need volumes 4 and 5, along with anything after volume 6.

previous - next - random review