The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Christopher Moore, �The Stupidest Angel�

Started December 17 � Finished Jan 7, 2007; 276 pages.. Posted 27 June 2007

Friday morning, as is often the case, I went to work at the paper. For most people at the paper, it�s the slack day, though probably not as much as Wednesday. On Wednesday, the paper is out for the week, making it the furthest point from when we have to crunch down and get everything written, edited and laid out on the page. But on Friday, the rest of the editors know that if they don�t get things done, they can work on things over the weekend, particularly if they�re like me and like to pour a bit of liquid inspiration before plunking down and mashing out a bunch of letters and sentences. Besides � if they don�t get anything done over the weekend, it just means they�ll have to bear down over the next two days, cursing themselves for not being more organized.

Unfortunately, that reasoning doesn�t work for me. My section has the most number of pages, and it certainly has the most words. And since I�m working on the Arts and Entertainment calendar, it isn�t like I�m working on three to five articles like the other editors. Instead, I�m working on something like 200 tiny little articles, entered over the week previous.

That might not be descriptive enough, so here�s an example of an entry:

Living on a Raw Food Diet
Dr. Henry Mueller demonstrates the benefits
of devouring hundreds of defenseless nuts,
grains, fruits and vegetables, who of course,
have no mouth to scream. J�Accuse!

Yes, that is what I wrote.

Of course, having so many entries means there are a lot of opportunities for errors. Maybe I was hungover. Perhaps my eyes were fogged over from wearing my contacts for far too many days previous. Or, as was the case on this particular Friday, I was exhausted and burnt out because I wrote the cover story as well as the 200 or so tiny little entries. In any case, I couldn�t slack off because, one, I was really far behind because of having to write the cover story. Two, I only had about seven hours before I had to leave and go to my job at the bar. Three, because my section is so text heavy, my section has to be laid out by Friday, copy edited over the weekend, and finalized on Monday by 3pm.

Let�s use some time stamps:

But by this point, I didn�t care if some people might not be able to find information on whatever group was holding a yoga retreat for lesbian Scottish amputees on Maui for a fee of $300. My editing process of �crap� vs. �crap which one person on this entire island besides the person submitting said crap might be interested in,� became much more closely intertwined.

Normally, the end of my Friday shift at the bar means I can finally relax. The paper is usually edited and I don�t have to work again until Monday morning. Not this time, however, because the bar is having a special event on Saturday night, and Patrick asked me to work on Saturday � Saturday morning, that is. I rush to clean up and get home, but still don�t manage to get to sleep until 5am.

And you as a bartender, at least partially, want to keep them there, even if they�re thoroughly uninteresting, or slightly crazy, or have been drinking since the night before and you can�t understand a single fucking word they�ve said.

I was fortunate and had a fairly lively crowd, even having about ten people at one point including Titty McBreastalot who has the most obscenely oversized fake breasts that I thought were only used for bad movie parodies. Across the bar sat Muscles McBraindead, who had these ridiculous profane lumps jutting out of his shoulders, biceps, and, I�m not kidding, his neck, who kept asking Titty McBreastalot if she had a sister.

I counted down the hours for my shift to end at 6pm. The hours went by slowly.

The place is so packed that I have to constantly shout for people to get out of the way, and my actions resemble a poorly thought-out video game, where the hero has to avoid making contact with anybody, lest they spill my handful of empty glasses, try to pick a fight, or give me some sort of STD.

�Thank you, my friend,� Patrick says to me, putting down a pint of Black Butte Porter in front of my face. �You,� he continues, �drink for free tonight.�

I�m really too tired to take advantage.

�Patrick,� Ron says evenly, �You know I love you. But now is not the time. I�ve had a bad fucking day and my day only started a half hour ago.�

�You�re a Redsox lovin� piece of fat fucking puke shit,� replies Patrick. �Oh, and you can gargle my balls.�

Patrick orders another round. I�ve been too tired to even attempt to keep up with others, and thus I�m reasonably coherent. Coherent enough to realize that the bartender really doesn�t want us there, anyway. Five minutes later, Patrick is asleep on the bar, dangerously close to falling off the edge. Ron nudges him.

�I got it,� I offer. Recruiting the last hold-out from my bar, we pick him up and start walking him back to our bar, where we can put him in his office chair. I know that even with my coherence level, it�s going to take at least two hours before I can get in my car. I start formulating my plan to slip away from the bar scene, but my train of thought is interrupted when the big fucking Hawaiian guy leaps out of his Gotti-styled SUV and starts running at us, fists raised.

He tackles Patrick, but holds him up, while my friend and I get ready to fight. Two other big Hawaiian guys jump out of the SUV, fists raised. Meanwhile, Patrick and the first guy start laughing uncontrollably � it�s obvious they know each other. That in itself isn�t a surprise � after 16 years of bartending, Patrick knows everybody.

The two other guys, who turn out to be the son and the nephew of the first guy, aren�t so sure that it�s friendly, mostly because they don�t believe their father would be friends with this drunk haole guy. It takes a few minutes to convince them that everything is cool.

You know those scenes in Goodfellas where a tense moment with Joe Pesci is defused and somebody says something stupid to get it all started up again, usually with gunplay? That�s how this morning was going. Just about the point where everybody had decided that everybody else was all right and that we were all just in search of a good time, Patrick would say something to the son like, �you should listen to your old man, he�s a good guy. Maybe if you pulled your head out of your ass and grew up a little, you�d realize that.�

And then we�re back to nearly having a rumble in the parking lot at 6:45am.

Still, even Patrick knew we were dangerously close to having some serous moments of violence. In a quiet moment where the son was talking to the father, Patrick took me aside. �Go inside for a minute, I don�t want them cold-cocking you.�

�Well, I don�t want them cold-cocking you especially if you have no backup,� I said.

�No, it�s a respect thing. If they see I�m willing to stand here and talk to them by myself, they don�t have anybody to act tough toward.�

�Or they might go three on one.�

�Yeah,� he said. �Send Ron out here.�

Ron�s a lot bigger than I am.

I go in the bar, and Ron is waiting. �So,� he says, �you were just about to leave and instead decide to get in an argument in the parking lot with the Hawaiian Mafia.�

Oh, fuck.

Ron goes outside to mediate. Within five minutes, everybody is happy again. Patrick sits down on the steps by the entrance and promptly goes to sleep. The Son and the nephew come in and turn the corner. I�m assuming they didn�t see me sitting there, slumped low, exhausted.

�Yeah,� says the son, �we go piss, and den we kill dat fucka.�

I wait for them to turn the corner, then bolt up, snatching Patrick�s arms under my shoulders, and half-run/half-drag him across the parking lot. We get into our building, lock the door, and I get him upstairs into his office.

Well, I thought, I�ve been wondering how I was going to get some rest anyway. I�ll just sneak behind the stage and take a nap.

�Have you been there this entire time?� he asked.

�I don�t want to talk about it,� I said.

�Black Butte Porter?� he asked.

�No,� I said. �I�ll have a bloody mary.�

I finished my drink and went back to The Hideaway, where I got another bloody mary, more out of penance for leaving my bag there all day. Ron said the Hawaiian Mafia guys started five different brawls while they were there.

�You just missed one of them,� he added. �He left about twenty minutes ago.�

�Good,� I said, sipping my drink.

About eleven hours later, on July 25, at about 1:30am, an arsonist set fire to my bar.

You think I�m joking.

Patrick was working that shift. Relax, he�s fine and was released from the hospital. But I thought about everything that I had gone through, and I realized something. Patrick was working at that bar at the same time I was working at the paper. When I showed up at the bar on Friday night, he was still there, drinking with friends and hanging out.

He left at about 8:30pm, though he had to go work at another bar that night from 11pm until 4am. The next morning, when I opened the bar, I discovered the cleaning lady had taken the office keys and I had to call and wake him up to have him let me in and get cash for the register. He stayed until about 1pm that day, only to come back at six that evening. The rest I�ve described, but when I went home, he was still passed out in his office. He worked again that evening, and ended up having to put out a huge fire, mostly by himself.

I should stop bitching so much.


Rating: Worth new!

previous - next - random review