The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

William Preston Robertson, "The Big Lebowski: The Making of a Coen Brothers Film"

Started March 2 - Finished March 2, 2002; 214 pages. Posted 3 March 2002

Man, I really love the Coen Brothers movies. Miller's Crossing is one of my all time favorite movies ever, and there are several other films by them that belong in the top 20, and perhaps even in the top ten.

But when I first saw The Big Lebowski, I didn't care for it, not much anyway. Oh, I thought it was okay, but I just didn't put it up there with The Hudsucker Proxy, Raising Arizona and Fargo.

But I bought a used copy of the video anyway because if there was one thing with Coen Brothers movies that always happens, it�s that you'll notice more every time you see it.

And I did notice something: it got funnier every time I saw it. How many movies can you say that about? Really, all you have to say is "Shut the fuck up, Donny," and I'll start giggling. There's been more than one occasion where Alex will suddenly say "Darkness washed over the Dude" for no reason at all, and the entire room starts laughing. If I were heavier, I'd stop dressing like Vyvian from The Young Ones for Halloween, and start dressing like Walter Sobcheck.

But of course, I shouldn't be talking about the film, I should be talking about the book. Surprise! This is actually pretty good! There isn't much repetition, the author writes well, and you actually get to see how much of the decisions were made, right down to the bowling pin hats and how they got The Dude to spin under the girl's skirts.


Rating: You said it man. Nobody fucks with the Jesus.

previous - next - random review