The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Lenny Bruce, "How to Talk Dirty and Influence People"

Started April 7 � Finished April 9, 2002; 247 pages. Posted 9 April 2002

Apparently I�ve achieved some sort of superpower after my recent sickness and can now control the bees, wasps, and yellowjackets of the world.

Everywhere I went today to try and read, I was followed by the little fuckers who wanted nothing less than to crawl all over me. While I don�t think I�m allergic, there was a mysterious time where I broke out into hives and I think I was stung by something around the same time, so today I kept trying to move. I don�t need a repeat of the hives.

But even after moving, not just to a new seat but across the entire campus, ten minutes later they were back again, wanting to present me with their delectable bee butts.

Maybe I need to rethink my plan to take over the world with my army of monkeys and switch to bees. Problem is, I saw the same scenario in a film shown on Mystery Science Theater 3000, and the premise seemed kind of implausible.

And boy howdy, did I feel like Christian Slater reading this book on campus! All I needed was some bimbo to spy on me, following me to my secret hideout where I broadcast subversive material over pirated airwaves.

Kinda like this journal.

I�ve never seen or read any of Lenny Bruce�s material before this. I don�t know why, I guess I just never had the opportunity. After reading this I�m not sure that I want to seek it out either, which is odd, because he seems like he could be a funny guy.

But from what I�ve read about him, he seemed to like to talk in circles, only occasionally making a point if he felt like it and it feels like it might get irritating after a while. He�s hailed as this big social critic and it shows in parts here, but mainly he�s just talking about himself.

Which I guess is proper since this is an autobiography.

It�s also hard to tell when he�s kidding as he talks about incidents with the cops and various religious figures. As a person who seems to attract a lot of weird situations I know a lot of what he writes about has the potential to happen. But too often it comes across as phony, and phony without making a joke or social commentary, like he really just wants to be loved.

He also spends the last 40 pages or so talking about being persecuted for drugs, all the while insisting that he didn�t do them. Or I guess I should say didn�t do much, but he DOES insist over and over that he�s never done heroin.

Funny thing is, he then dies on the toilet of a heroin overdose.

Now that�s funny.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting it for really cheap.

previous - next - random review