The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Sam Henderson, "Humor Can Be Funny!"

Started June 29 � Finished June 29, 2002; 124 pages. Posted 01 July 2002

Should this count as one of my books? My roommate let me borrow it after noticing a television bequeathed to me had a sticker by Henderson featuring a guy pointing at a dog with a word balloon saying, �Roll over, you fucking asshole!�

I�m going to say yes, it does count as one of �my� books, even though it isn�t mine to keep.

I didn�t know anything about this guy. Apparently he does (or did) a comic called �The Magic Whistle.� There was no whistle that I noticed. The artwork is on the level of John Callahan�s, but Callahan has an excuse � he�s a cripple.

The humor level is about the same as Callahan�s as well � it�s a little rude, more than a little crude, and it�s very hit or miss. Really, this is one of those things that probably would have been better in small doses but as it happened I tore right through it in one sitting. Subsequently, I noticed a lot more of the misses than the hits.

There�s a reoccurring list in here about �things that are always funny� and in some of the cases, he�s right.

A hypnotist dying after turning someone into a chicken IS always funny. So is a mouse hanging from a noose while holding a suicide note. With other things I wasn�t so sure, like I�m not sure that a man getting in an auto accident and walking in the door with the steering wheel around his head is always funny.

But then, in what was probably the best part of the book, he writes down the plot design of the greatest teen sex comedy ever made where he describes all of the plot devices for teenage sex comedies. By the time his list was finished, I knew that I either had to see or make this film.


Rating: Worth interrupting your normal reading schedule to stop and read this when your roommate lets you borrow it.

previous - next - random review