The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Warren Ellis, �Transmetropolitan: Year of the Bastard�

Started August 26 � Finished August 26, 2002; 144 pages. Posted 28 August 2002

First of all, I have to thank Pennhellope for introducing me to this comic.

The main character, one Spider Jerusalem, is an investigative journalist in the future. The character is obviously based on Hunter S. Thompson, and even looks like him after a fashion, but he�s twice as mean and he drinks five times as much.

I can relate.

I�m not the only one who can relate either. While I was working for the Venue Magazine in England, I noticed my colleague had a cut out of Spider posted to his cubicle, drink in one hand, cigarette clenched between his teeth as he kicked in a door. The word balloon read, �I don�t have to take this crap! I�m a fucking journalist!�

If I can find this picture for myself, it�s going up on my bedroom door.

Once I move into a place that has a bedroom door, that is.

Anyway, the story has Hunter... sorry, Spider... covering an election filled with people he hates. He decides that he�s going to ruin both of the candidates. Why? Because they make him sick. My fucking hero. And I say that without sarcasm.


Rating: Worth new.

previous - next - random review