The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Stephen King, �The Green Mile�

Started August 29 � Finished August 31, 2002; 598 pages. Posted 03 September 2002

I brought the first batch of stuff over to the new house today — the house I�ll eventually be moving into. Basically, I did it because I had some free time and I wanted to have a good idea how much stuff I would need to get rid of.

I pulled up into the driveway of the new place to hear Mariachi music blaring at top volume out of an open window from the house next door. Now, I have nothing against that kind of music, but I never understood why it can only be played at top volume. I hauled one bookcase worth of books up the narrow flight of steps and had barely finished when the neighbor leaned on his car horn. Apparently, I had blocked him in. Good start to my soon-to-be new neighbors.

I hate moving.

I hated The Green Mile movie as well. After something as good as The Shawshank Redemption, I couldn�t believe how slow and dull this movie was.

So imagine how I felt when I found out that the film mirrors the book very closely.

But I guess that�s not totally fair. I actually became interested in the fourth through sixth parts of the story, or maybe the five Steinlager�s I drank during that time made me kind. I�m glad I got it for free, and frankly the whole serial novel thing seems like an amazing cash cow for King, and nothing more. Imagine, having fans lining up slavishly every month to buy the new installment at $3.00 each ($4.50 for the finale). That�s $19.50, plus sales tax for the equivalent for a seven dollar book.

I could say more about the book, good or bad, but I�m just too tired to care. And I still have about 450 books to move before I even think about moving my records.

It�s going to be a long month.


Rating: Worth flea market prices.

previous - next - random review