The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Jon J. Muth, �Swamp Thing: Roots�

Started August 29 � Finished August 29, 2002; 66 pages. Posted 02 September 2002

I just finished a cursory look at my stuff to figure out what I need to move when we vacate this house. Obviously, I�m going to start with all the books that I�m going to have load into a car, drive to a new place, carry up a narrow staircase, and try to fit in one bedroom. It�s a little over 700 books. Why can�t I have a different collecting obsession? Something that doesn�t threaten to throw my back out, or make the back axle on my car collapse?

Worse still is the realization that some of these books - like this one - are crap. And I have to think about the fact that not only did I spend money on them, but I now also have to carry them around. Not to mention that I wasted my time reading this, when I could have been doing something more fun and/or productive.

Like filing my teeth down with a jagged nail file.

I said it before: I really like this comic. But there�s an addendum to that statement: I only like this comic when Alan Moore is writing the story line. The problem is, he wrote so well when he was on the title that I can�t help but check out other issues involving other authors. Like this one � which was so bad that I felt I had to stop my reading it and go back to Moore�s work on the series, lest I smash my Swamp Thing statue on the tiles of my floor.

Bad, bad, bad! As bad as film, Return of the Swamp Thing. In fact, I don�t know why this is listed as a Swamp Thing title at all, as the character is barely in it. It�s a cheap amalgamation of Swamp Thing and The Sandman series (both by different - and infinitely more talented writers than this Muth guy, whomever HE is) to tell a rather dull and busy gothic horror story.

Gak! And now I have to carry it up the stairs. Motherfucker. Somebody give this guy a job in accounting, I�m sure he�ll be more interesting and original in that field.


Rating: �Do not bring your evil here.� �Swamp Thing, the movie.

previous - next - random review