The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Chris Claremont & Bill Sienkiewicz, �The New Mutants: The Demon Bear Saga�

Started September 13 � Finished September 13, 2002; 112 pages). Posted 16 September 2002

I�m right in the middle of this huge collection of non-fiction essays, which was taking me forever to slog through. Knowing on Friday night that I only had an hour or two before I passed out again, I decided to start something else; something that was a little less � taxing, to put it nicely.

When I was about 15 or so, and buying (well, sometimes I bought them) fucked up comics from the rack at my local 7-11, I thought the New Mutants series was not bad, but mostly because of the paranoid us vs. them issues.

That eventually tapered off, along with my interest. After all, it was really thrown together like a bad TV show from the era of good feelings, putting five or six people of all different backgrounds, usually one black guy, one Latina girl, one studious and plain looking honkey, one Asian brain, and then you picked from the remainders of the �other� races. This book was no exception to the formula, though when they picked the �other� category, they went for an ultimate foreigner, choosing somebody from outer space.

And these group of misfits play and work together, stumbling over cultural barriers, learning finally to laugh and love together, or any other tagline for a feel-good PG-13 movie you�d care to quote from. Thank you, New Mutants, for making us laugh about love � again.

Ah, I don�t feel like talking about the book, which was better than I figured it was going to be, mostly due to Sienkiewicz amazing art. How about another story about me moving?

On Tuesday I brought another load of books over, along with some small furniture. As I stacked the incoming books in the far corner, I noticed something skittering across the rug of my new room.

This was actually the second time I�ve seen something make a break for it when I walked in. The first time, I jumped on it with two feet and it was immediately rendered unidentifiable. But this one was too fast for me, and ran behind a huge fish tank that was left behind by the previous tenant of the room. So I went back out to talk to Rich.

�Okay Rich,� I said, �That�s the second time I�ve seen some small brown creature running across the floor in that room, but it doesn�t really look like a cockroach. In fact, it kinda looks like a cricket.�

�Oh yeah,� he said, �Well, there wasn�t anybody living in that room for a long time, so I would let my lizards run around on the floor. Occasionally I would throw some crickets in there and shut the door. I�ll make sure there�s no crickets left in there by the time you move in.�

I hate moving.


Rating: Worth used prices.

previous - next - random review