The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Russ Kick (Editor), �You Are Being Lied To�

Started September 11 � Finished September 18, 2002; 399 pages. Posted 28 September 2002

Did I mention that I hate moving? Christ, I finished 35 books last month, and this month I�ve finished five. Five! Ach! I�m still in the middle of moving, but I think I�m down to the last four to six trips in my little car. My future room is just packed full of stuff, since all I did was throw it all in a corner and move it closer and closer to the door.

And after that, I still need to clean everything up. Ugh. And I have to go to school. And I need to finish more books, because five books in a month will not stand.

I finished this over a week and a half ago, but wasn�t able to get around to writing anything about it until now (really, I still don�t have time � I should be bringing another load over to the house right now). So my memory may be a little hazy.

This is one really huge book with a lot of essays dealing with politics, religion, history, world affairs, and lots of other fun topics that aren�t polite dinner conversation. As would be expected with any collection of essays, some rule and some bore me to tears. There�s some really good stuff about The Troubles in Ireland, evidence of support of other attackers during the Colombine massacre, and Howard Bloom is one crazy motherfucker.

Thankfully, nearly all of the pieces weren�t tired rehashes of things we�ve (or more specifically, I read before. And I started laughing maniacally on campus at my little bench that I stake out when I read this:

�We must continue our commitment to deter the demand inside our country, stop the supply on and beyond our borders and increase the accountability within drug fighting programs. We must win the war on Drugs by 2003.� �House Speaker Dennis Hastert (R-Il). Feb. 25, 1999

Or what? You�ll concede? Turn the house over to the drug lords? Throw a party?

But speaking of lying, you remember the crazy ex-girlfriend I speak of occasionally? She wrote me again. I couldn�t fucking believe it. I mean, the last time she contacted me, I told her that when her diabetes makes her feet fall off, she could do me a favor and shove them up her ass. Now, if that�s not going to get a person to stop talking to you, what can it possibly take? So she wrote, and I responded, which two people have already told me was probably a bad move. But the response went like this:

You would think that would do it, wouldn�t you? Well I thought it would, but I also thought the comment about her feet would do it as well. And she�s already written back. So, assuming you�ve read this far, what suggestions do you have for me to do? Huh? Huh?


Rating: Worth using as some sort of weapon against my crazy ex-girlfriend.

previous - next - random review