The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Garth Ennis �Preacher: Gone to Texas�

Started November 1 � Finished November 1, 2002; 200 pages. Posted 04 October 2002

The word for today, children, is filler. Sometimes referred to as padding.

See, I was on the last day for the count of October, and I knew I hadn�t finished all that many books. As I�m in the middle of this huge biography of Steinbeck, I knew there was no way in hell that I was going to finish that one.

Not to mention that my poor hand was (is) still injured (Though I no longer think it looks like an animal took a bite out of my pinky � it now looks like somebody took a sharp spoon and scooped out my flesh). I set the huge biography I'm currently reading aside and worked on this one. I have too many graphic novels on my to read shelf anyway.

Besides, a graphic novel that has a preacher, a vampire, and a girl that dresses like a hooker is appropriate when I still have fake blood on my arm from the night before, yeah?

This is supposed to be one of those hot titles, but I�m not exactly sure why. There are some good parts, but at times it�s obvious that it�s an English bloke trying to sound like a Texan. And when he tries to be funny, all too often it�s the kind that is sort-of amusing, but at the same time makes you groan and roll your eyes.

When the tale goes at full force it has a good story line, but Ennis seems to get distracted pretty easily so you have to wait for him to get his tangent out of his system. And since I picked up five of these collections, I�m betting I�m gonna have to read a lot of goddamn tangents.

But in the meantime, there�s a lot of carnage in the vein of Dead Alive and the Evil Dead movies.

And that ain�t half bad.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for really cheap.

previous - next - random review