The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

David Mack, �Kabuki - Circle of Blood�

Started February 22 � Finished February 23, 2003; 272 pages. Posted 27 February 2003

I�ve slowed down on the Graphic Novel intake, even though I still have a ton of them to get through. I guess I should explain how this one came about. See, even with as many graphic novels I�ve reviewed and still have to review, I still don�t think of myself as much of a comic fan. I mean, sure, there�s the whole Daredevil thing, but that�s an entirely different story.

In fact, when I walk into my local comic shop, I always feel like I�m being judged by the other fanboys, �cause I usually only walk out with the newest issue of Daredevil, especially now that Transmetropolitan ended its run. That feeling is particularly evident now since the movie is out, and these dorks probably think I�m jumping on a bandwagon.

And maybe I am. After all, there�s only one reason I picked this up. No wait, there were two reasons. One, I got it for pretty cheap, and two, David Mack recently finished a small run on Daredevil as writer and artist (and he�s referenced in the movie), and I thought he did an excellent job. If it weren�t for Daredevil, I never would have known about him.

So apparently this book was what made his name in the comic world, particularly since he was both writer and artist, like much of the work of Frank Miller. And the connection to Miller is appropriate here, as this story is very Frank Miller-esque. It�s lyrical, dark, brooding, and chock full of references to Asian culture and martial arts in particular. It�s also yet another example on how a graphic novel can succeed in ways that a simple motion picture or even a novel can fail. There�s some profound stuff here that I�m sure I would have missed if I didn�t have his art coinciding with the story.

But at the same time as I write this just three days after finishing it, I seem to have forgotten the specifics that made it so good, making me question if it really had an impact or if I was just caught in the moment. In any case, it probably isn�t fair to the book that I�m reviewing it after writing four reviews in a row.

Well, life isn�t fair sometime. I think Mack knows this, evidence supplied by the parts of this book that I do remember. I�m sure he�ll understand. Or maybe he can join forces with Roman Dirge and form a shit-talking support group against me.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for really cheap.

previous - next - random review