The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Sergio Aragones, �Groo: The Most Intelligent Man in the World�

Started March 1� Finished March 1, 2003; 112 pages. Posted 11 March 2003

I don�t know how I ended up with this book. Where the hell did it come from? I don�t think I bought it! Yeah, it was funny when I was 13, but so was Revenge of the Nerds (And don�t get on me about that unless you�ve seen Revenge of the Nerds within the last three years. It really doesn�t hold up well with age, unlike things like Airplane!

So, there are only two good things that I can say about this. It was really short, and the inclusion of a conversation with Aragones and his editor was funnier than anything else in this book. Aragones, who does (did?) the little margin drawings for MAD Magazine, is known as the world�s fastest artist, and so it was also neat to see the detail that he would commit to a single panel, and to see the colorist try to ink in all the characters. After a couple of pages, most of the art reverts to a simple purplish gray, as if they were in the background.

Is that three things? Fine. That means it�s actually better than the fucking Kerouac book I�m currently reading.


Rating: Worth Library Prices.

previous - next - random review