The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Douglas Adams, �The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul�

Started April 11 � Finished April 14, 2003; 307 pages. Posted 16 April 2003

And so the hunt for distraction material continues. I don�t know if I�m older, or more jaded, or if it�s the time we live in (April being the cruelest month and all), but this Dirk Gently series just doesn�t bring out the laughs like the Hitchhiker series did for me when I was younger.

There are some good moments in here, but for the most part, there seems to be this incredible buildup leading to a simple one-liner. I like one-liners, but 20 pages for it to come along are a lot of a buildup for a mild laugh.

Still, it has Thor as a main character, and that�s always a good sign. Plus, I like reading about London, trying to see if the writer will describe any of the places I hung out at in my relentless pursuit of my Red Hot Punk Rock Goddess. This had quite a few of those instances, and even some of the areas I wrote about in my book, which I really need to get around to finishing that final draft for..

So perhaps I should get to it. But then again, I�m more than halfway done with Vice City.

Vice City it is.


Rating: Worth Used.

previous - next - random review