The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Peter Bagge, Multiple titles

Started August 22 � Finished August 23, 2003; 213 pages. Posted 06 September 2003

I had another one of those realizations the other day at work that proves that I can�t keep my mouth shut, even when it�s probably a pretty good idea to do so.

A guy came in with a poster for a mystery dinner theater event of some sort, and while he was explaining to me what the event was, he mentioned that all the proceeds would benefit the SIDS organization.

At first I let it pass, but when he said the name again, I told him I had no idea what SIDS was.

�Sudden Infant Death Syndrome,� he said.

�Oh,� said I. Then, after a beat, I said, �Are you for or against it?�

I guess it�s no surprise to anyone that I�ve had my teeth knocked out before, huh?

Which makes a good (well, maybe not good... fair? Middling?) segue into these books. Peter Bagge, best known for his line of comics titled Hate features lots of people who will say all the things that you wanted to, be it to cops, teachers, Christians, parents, roommates, or acquaintances. Of course, I didn�t know any of this, as I hadn�t read anything by him before � I just knew he was one of those so-called underground darlings.

And so I started with Stupid Comics, which was, well... stupid.

Really stupid.

It�s along the lines of Evan Dorkin�s Milk and Cheese, which I love, but it�s important to take in small doses (the comic that is. Drink all the milk you want, though there is that legend about drinking a gallon of milk in an hour...).

The joke about a small obnoxious girl who beats up on everybody wears incredibly thin very quickly. For something that is only 93 pages, this seemed to go on forever, and that�s mostly because it was only a slight variation on a theme that was already tired after three pages.

But I did finish it, feeling cheated and confused on why I�m always hearing about how great this guy is. I started Buddy the Dreamer with a slight tinge of revulsion, only taking comfort in the fact that it should be quick to finish, and once I did I could purchase the Michael J. Nelson book that just came in the store.

That�s where I was surprised. Whereas Stupid Comics was total fourth grade immature garbage, Buddy was a well thought-out and plotted piece of work. Maybe it was just that I related too much, as Buddy is a failed musician who drinks a lot, has a couple of slobs for roommates, thinks too much about his failed station in life, is constantly fending off crazy women and works in a used bookstore!

AHHHHHHH!!! My life isn�t even a sitcom! It�s a fucking comic book!


Rating: �Stupid Comics� isn�t worth anything at all. �Buddy the Dreamer� is worth used.

previous - next - random review