The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Brian Michael Bendis, �Daredevil: Out�

Started December 14 � Finished December 14, 2003; 208 pages. Posted 31 December 2003

In case you are one of the few people who actually check what book I read, no, my favorite superhero did not turn gay. Out is one of the new format of Marvel Comics, where a story is spread over several issues instead of being wrapped up in a single comic, as was the norm.

Personally, I like this format better, since it gives time for the story to grow and doesn�t concentrate on a lame introduction, six pages of fighting, and an epilogue. Now we get two issues of introduction, an issue of fighting, and one edition for the finale/wrap up.

Of course, I�m not so na�ve to think they�re doing this for my benefit. The real reason is so Marvel can re-release this issues in a paperback format, hoping the geeks will double dip. And since I already had all these issues, I guess they�re right.

This title goes into a new area, however. If you�ve watched the Daredevil DVD with the enhanced viewing mode on, it makes a reference about how more people knows Daredevil�s secret identity than any other superhero in comics. That would certainly be the case now, as one of the covers features the identity on the front page of the Daily Globe.

This kind of schtick has happened before and it usually ends in an issue or two, typically by having somebody else put on the costume and stand next to Matt Murdock. But Bendis, who is fast becoming my favorite Daredevil writer, pulls out all the stops. So much so that I wasn�t sure how they would finish this run.

And therein lies the problem, because Bendis apparently didn�t know how to finish it either. The final three issues shift focus to a courtroom drama involving another character. These issues are good enough, but as I�m reading them (and re-reading, now), I can�t help but be frustrated that he�s leaving old questions sill hanging. Worse is that now, at least eight months after this bombshell has dropped, Bendis still hasn�t addressed the issue.

Perhaps he�s thinking comic book journalists work the same way as real life reporters, and drop a story after it�s become old news, resolved or not.

I�m betting nobody knows what the fuck I�m talking about, huh?


Rating: Worth Used.

previous - next - random review