The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Philip K. Dick and Roger Zelazny, �Deus Irae�

Started December 26 � Finished December 27, 2003; 238 pages. Posted 06 January 2004

I really, really, REALLY have to stop this habit of liking one book, and then buying a shitload of other titles by the same author. All too often, that one good book the author had happened to be their only one, and I slog through mountains of mediocre crap. Kerouac. DeLillo. Steinbeck. Chomsky. Stephen King.

How many reviews have I done by these authors in the past two years? And how many of their books did I read before I started this stupid documentation project? And how many authors could I have been reading in their stead? now I�m slowly slogging though all of this nonsense while other things come into the store and get sold again before I can buy them, only because I�ve decided I�m going to make a serious attempt at catching up on the things I�ve purchased over the years?

Christ, for being such a sharp guy, I can be a real idiot sometimes.

I don�t even particularly LIKE science fiction, and I�ve read at least six books by Philip K. Dick, the science fiction guru. Most of this is due to the fact that Do They Dream of Electric Sheep? was so good, but this was a load of garbage.

And I still have three more Philip K. Dick novels to finish.

Actually, I guess I can be glad that I didn�t like this. I got it because of Philip K. Dick, but as it was co-written by Roger Zelazny, a guy who has a buttload of books of his own, I know have no reason to check out other books by him, which hopefully will save me some time on my quest.

And if that�s the saving grace of this novel, you can guess that it was pretty stupid.


Rating: Worthless.

previous - next - random review