The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Jack Kerouac, �The Viking Portable Jack Kerouac�

Started June 7 � Finished June 15, 2004; 638 pages. Posted 27 June 2004

Ah Christ, my pile of books I have to review grew again. At this point, I have nine books waiting for me to review. In the meantime, I�m still trying to put up the older reviews on the new site. Meanwhile, I�m still trying to get an answer out of Columbia University, My bills are piling up, I�m running out of room for the books I have finished, and I got received two pieces of hate mail for my eulogy on Ronald Reagan, which did end up getting published from the De Anza Web site.

If you didn�t click on the link, perhaps you should. I ought to remind you that when I was writing columns for City Revolt, I got my teeth knocked out for criticizing people, while the crowd gathered around chanting, �Campbell Pride! Campbell Pride!�

Not that I expect any of you to save my ass, but I thought you might like to see a crowd screaming �Reagan Pride! Reagan Pride!� while they beat the shit out of somebody.

I know I would.

So, under La Voz guidelines, I�m not supposed to personally respond to these people, but the first comment listed his own Web page and I couldn�t resist. What follows is my answer to his hate mail.:

Anyway. What I�d really like to know, especially after reading this Kerouac book, is why he still had his teeth when he died. Granted, Kerouac died young. Oh, that�s right, it�s because Jack was just annoying in the general sense of his writings and ramblings, and not because he talked about a particular person.

It�s still no excuse. Kerouac needs his teeth knocked out. More so, over 30 years after his death, not because he said anything about a certain person or figurehead, but because he�s an annoying fuckwad.


Rating: Worth using as a weapon to knock Kerouac�s teeth out.

previous - next - random review