The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Nathan Singer, �A Prayer for Dawn�

Started June 16 � Finished June 17, 2004; 213 pages. Posted 01 July 2004

I don�t remember if I mentioned it, but Maximum RockNRoll did publish my review of the Mumia Abu-Jamal book. It�s in the July 2004 issue, if anybody wants to pick it up.

They didn�t tell it was going to be published. In fact, they sent me another book � this book � and didn�t say jack about the other thing I wrote. But then, a couple of days later, the new MRR showed up in the mail with my article inside in all the MRR inky glory.

Back when I was still in college as opposed to waiting for an acceptance letter from college, I took a lot of classes that I thought would be fun, or at the very least, interesting. As it happens, my perverse view of the world makes me interested in the classes that most people would avoid, except for one thing � most of these classes turned out to be required courses.

I walked into classes on Critical Thinking, African American Literature, Media Scandals, Cinema and the African American, Pop Culture, The American Dream, History of Media Communications, Interviewing, Social Change, and several others, only to be shocked at how many people were in the class. I thought I was in the wrong room. I know damn well there aren�t this many people with the same interests as me in San Jose.

Then the teacher would start the first lecture, explaining how the class fulfilled such-and-such requirement, and that they knew the only reason people were enrolled was because they had to pass the class in order to get a degree.

I wasn�t there because of the requirement. Most of the time it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. And since I was actually interested in the class, I contributed to discussions. Often.

But I also like to drink, and there were plenty of times where I wanted to sit quietly in the back of the room and try to keep my head from exploding. But the teacher, hoping I would help her start yet another discussion within the group, would continually call on me for support. �Dean? What do you think about that?� they�d say. �You have anything to add?� You could see the pleading in their eyes. Sometimes I would acquiesce, but there were more than a few times where I said that I was hung over and the only thing I could contribute was some vomit to the floor if they didn�t stop making me look up from my shoes.

I bring this up, because MRR, excited by the fact that I turned in a review three days after they sent me the book, has figured they can call on me again and again. The note attached to this newest book they sent me read as follows:

�Dean, This is due July 15, but if you have it before the 15th of June, the publisher wants to use a quote.�

I got this book in the mail on June 15. Yes, I�m fast, but fuck! I�m also hung over!

I did finish the book two days later. I still haven�t written anything for MRR. In fact, I�m supposed to be writing it right now. The problem is, I can�t think of anything. See, not only did they give me an unreasonable deadline, they gave me a terrible book. This is the pleading professor all over again. They know they�re dealing with weak subject matter, but they hope I�ll jump in with a flippant statement and get the rest of the class talking.

I now have 15 days left to deadline, and I�m still not sure what I�m going to say. I�m on my second glass of liquid inspiration, and still I have nothing.

Wait a second...

I�m now on my third glass, and I think I have something.


Rating: Worth reading in order to get current publishing clips.

previous - next - random review