The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Tom DeFalco and Roger Stern, �The Amazing Spider-man: The Saga of the Alien Costume�

Started July 9 � Finished July 9, 2004; 192 pages. Posted 15 July 2004

All right, I saw Spider-man 2, just like every body else in the world. Yeah, it was pretty good. A hell of a lot better than the first one, anyway.

My girlie-girl chicken once explained the appeal for Spider-man for teenagers. It�s an outlet for the geeky kids who can�t get girls and get picked on to live vicariously through a guy who dresses in tights. Makes sense on the identity scale, more sense than loving a comic featuring a blind lawyer. But I�ve always been a little weird, and besides, I didn�t get picked on and I got girls.

My eyesight isn�t that hot either.

I never got too much into this series, as I think I�ve stated before. It was too corny with all the bad quips and snappy patter. None of this is in the movie, however, which is great. Nothing is more annoying than the lame one-liners that fill every bad action film. Mike from Unit Breed and myself once tried to do a marathon stream of Schwarzenegger one-lines. The winner was �Zee yoo at ze partay, Wictor.�

Like I said, the one-liners aren�t in the film (though you probably know that, as you�ve probably all seen it). Too bad they�re in such abundance here. Practically every sentence ends with an exclamation point! Sometimes even two!! Or three!!!

I tried to talk like this just the other day! It lasted about 10 minutes before I wanted to strangle myself!! No wonder Peter Parker gets into so many fights!!! Everybody around him wants him to shut the fuck up!!!!


Rating: Worth Used!!! AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

previous - next - random review