The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Brian Michael Bendis, multiple titles

Started July 24 - Finished July 27, 2004; 1140 pages. Posted 22 September 2004

I�ll admit it; I started this site out of a hunger to be seen by more people. Not that I don�t appreciate the nonsensical ramblings left on the guestbook and the occasional e-mail, but I looked at the entire idea of having a new site as a chance to branch out, perhaps sell a few books, and get noticed, rather than writing for a small group of friends who I either have known for years, or I know in a weird six degrees of separation kind of thing.

Setting up a new site seemed like the best way to do that.

Shows what I know.

I�m not going to get into a self-pity rant. In fact, tooling around on this site, I�ve seen far too many talented writers, people who could actually form coherent sentences and make them interesting, sign off in the last month or two, many complaining that they simply aren�t receiving enough feedback, or praise, or death threats to keep going. Some of these sites include edgarfrog,* cottoncunt and smoog.

While I�m sad that these people, who are talented, are quitting, leaving a multitude of whining, verbose, illiterate hacks to write entry after pointless entry in their place, I have to wonder why they were doing it in the first place.

I started this because I love to read and I love to write. When I write these reviews, I�m trying to make myself laugh, or be upset, or ever-so-occasionally, to make a point. I don�t always succeed. But I�m trying. And I�m happy to share.

Like anybody, I love getting feedback, good or bad. Sometimes, when I write something that I�m particularly fond of, I hope that somebody will comment on it. It doesn�t happen all that often.

And that�s okay. I still enjoyed writing it. Particularly since I usually write these late at night with a gut full of liquor.

Which brings us to Brian Michael Bendis. Jesus fuck, this guy must write all the time. All of these books were written in a four-year period, and he�s written for other things as well. In fact, he�s written so much in the last four years that I�m wondering if he gets sick of writing in the same way that several of these diaryland scribes have stated.

I�m betting he doesn�t. And while his writing can excel (like in the Alias series), or be overwrought (Torso), I can tell from every line of dialogue, every synopsis, every setup and plot point, that he�s having the time of his life.

And it�s because that comes through in his writing that I can forgive the times that it doesn�t do anything for me.

*Edgarfrog just started writing again. Don�t I feel like CBS News right about now.


Rating: All are worth used prices.

previous - next - random review